CEU Requirements for Florida Professional Engineers
Florida PE’s renewing their license often ask – What are the continuing education requirement for Florida professional engineers?
Professional engineers in Florida must complete 18 professional development hours of continuing education biennially to renew their licenses. No continuing education hours may be carried over into the following renewal cycle. PEs must complete at least one PDH on professional engineering rules and laws in Florida and one PDH on engineering ethics as part of their 18 continuing education PDH. Florida based PEs must also complete four continuing education PDH in their area of engineering practice to complete the PE license renewal process. The remaining continuing education PDH can deal with any topic pertinent to practicing engineering. The license renewal date for all professional engineers is February 28 on odd years.
For a complete list of all license renewal requirements check out our Florida PE renewal page.
Florida PDH Credits
The Florida Board of Professional Engineers (FBPE) regulates professional engineering in the State of Florida.
In Florida, PEs must complete 18 continuing education PDH biennially in FBPE pre-approved providers delivered courses and activities. They must include one PDH in professional engineering ethics, one PDH in professional engineering rules and laws in Florida and four PDH in topics pertinent to their specific area of engineering practice. All remaining continuing education PDH must deal with topics relevant to engineering practices. PEs don’t have to submit completion certificates from the continuing education courses and activities. However, they must keep those certificates for four years. PE licenses can be renewed electronic online through myfloridalicense.com accounts.
Florida License Renewal Dates
The license renewal date for all professional engineers in Florida is February 28. The renewals can be done online. PEs must complete 18 continuing education PDH through pre-approved providers biennially. PEs don’t have to send the board proof they completed all 18 continuing education PDH. But they must keep all completion certificates, receipts, attendance logs and other documents proving the CE was completed for 4 years and produce it during any audit by the FBPE.
Engineering Ethics and Professional Conduct
The FBPE requires all PEs renewing their licenses biennially to complete one continuing education PDH in engineering ethics, one continuing education PDH in professional engineering rules and laws in Florida and 4 continuing education PDH in their area of engineering practice to fulfill their 18 continuing education PDH. The remaining continuing education hours can be on any topics relevant to practicing engineering. All of the continuing education PDH may be completed through online courses.
Records Keeping Requirements for Engineers
PEs in Florida renewing their licenses must keep all proof they completed the required 18 continuing education PDH for 4 years. That includes all records, completion certificates, receipts, attendance logs and other documents and be prepared to show them to the FBPE if they are audited.
Continuing Education Activities Accepted by the Board
For continuing education course or activities to be accepted by the FBPE as a professional engineer’s PDH, they must be sponsored and run by board-approved providers. PEs in Florida can earn PDH to renew their engineering licenses by:
- Attending or presenting conferences, conventions, in-house or non-classroom courses, online courses, seminars, self-study or self-directed courses, live webinars, workshops or presentations of a professional or technical nature made at meetings and presentations by vendors who knowledgeable of the PEs practice area.
- Earning as many as 4 continuing education PDH through serving as officer of technical or professional engineering society that’s FBPE recognized.
- Serving as elected local or state officials or members of the Florida legislature earns PEs credit for their required PDH related to engineering laws, rules and ethics in Florida.
- Activities or courses with the clear purpose, objective and content of maintaining, expanding or improve the PEs skills and knowledge of engineering practices.
- Completing course on ethical, technical or managerial content relevant to engineering practices.
Courses And Activities Not Approved
The FBPE withholds its approval from certain courses and activities not reaching the appropriate standard for conveying credit for PDH. They include:
- Personal self-improvement courses, trade shows, equipment demonstrations, estate, financial or personal planning courses.
- Courses which has content below the professional engineer’s level of skill, knowledge and responsibility.
Pre-Approval of Continuing Education Activities
In Florida, the FBPE must pre-approve all providers and sponsors of PDH through continuing education activities and courses. All courses and activities must be presented by sponsors or providers approved by the FBPE to be accepted.
Sources of Free Continuing Education Courses
There are a number of websites through which PEs in Florida can receive free continuing education courses to earn their 18 PDH required to renew their PE license. Read our article that provides a detailed overview of free engineering CEU courses.
Florida Engineering Licensing
To become licensed PEs in Florida, candidates must be 18, have a United States Social Security number and a bachelor’s degree in engineering or engineering technology from an Engineering Accreditation Commission/Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (EAC/ABET)accredited undergraduate program. People with engineering degrees from foreign universities or non-EAC/ABET accredited programs must have their degrees reviewed Florida-approved evaluation companies to prove their education is equivalent to that offered at EAC/ABET accredited programs.
Candidates must then pass the NCEES-administered Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam and Principles & Practice of Engineering (PE) exam. After passing both exams, candidates must work under licensed professional engineers’ supervision for 48 to 72 months and progressively demonstrate increasing quality and the ability to handle more responsibility and have references from three PEs before they qualify for a professional engineer’s license in Florida.
Engineering Discipline Restrictions
Florida’s engineering board doesn’t limit or restrict activities or courses engineers can take based on the engineering license they have. However, the course or activity must provide professional or technical information that improves and enhances the PEs engineering knowledge and skill level.
Renewing Your Professional Engineers License In Florida
The Florida Board of Professional Engineers (FBPE) has a streamlined process for ensuring PEs have completed their 18 PDH of continuing education through pre-approved providers. This ensures PE are constantly becoming better equipped to protect the public’s safety and welfare.