508-298-4787
info@pdh-pro.com

Continuing Education Requirements for Louisiana Engineers

CEU Requirements for Louisiana Professional EngineersContinuing Education Requirements for Louisiana Engineers

Louisiana engineers contact us asking – What are the continuing education requirement for Louisiana professional engineers?

Professional engineers in Louisiana need to amass 30 professional development hours every two years through continuing education courses and activities. Up to 15 PDH earned in excess of the required 30 PDH can be carried forward into the next biennial renewal cycle. Engineers working in Building and Building Systems must complete a minimum of 8 PDH in Building Code, Life Safety Code, Building Code and/or Accessibility Guidelines for the Americans with Disabilities Act and one PDH a year in ethics. The renewal dates are March 31 as well as September 30 depending on the year the engineer initially got their license.

For a complete list of all license renewal requirements check out our Louisiana PE renewal page.

Louisiana PDH Credits

The Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying (LAPELS) issues engineering licenses for the State of Louisiana.

LAPELS

PEs in Louisiana must complete 30 PDH in continuing education courses and other activities biennially. The continuing education courses must include at least 2 PDH in Ethics and 8 or more in Building Code, Life Safety Code and the Accessibility Guidelines for the Americans with Disabilities Act.

The Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying board must pre-approve all providers and the continuing education courses they offer for PDH. Certificates of completion don’t have to be submitted to the LAPELS board during biennial professional engineering license renewal. However, the PEs must keep the certificates of completion for 6 years and be prepared to provide copies to the LAPELS board should they request it for verification purposes at any time. License renewal can be done both by mail and electronically online.

Louisiana License Renewal Dates

In Louisiana, the license renewal dates for PEs are March 31 and September 30 depending on the year they initially got their license. The PE must keep the continuing education PDH course completion records for 6 years and present them to the board on demand for course participation verification.

Engineering Ethics and Professional Conduct

Each calendar year PEs in Louisiana must complete 1 PDH in professional ethics. Rule 3105(A)(1) is the state board rule that outlines this requirement. The purpose of this rule is to ensure engineers understand the Louisiana engineering board’s canon of ethics and the responsibility expected of a professional engineer.

Records Keeping Requirements for Engineers

The LAPELS board mandates PEs in Louisiana retain completion certificates verifying they have fulfilled the required 30 PDH in continuing education for license renewal for 6 years. Copies of these certificates are to be presented to the LAPELS board upon request.

Continuing Education Activities Accepted by the Board