508-298-4787
info@pdh-pro.com

PDH Requirements at a Glance: The State-By-State Engineer Requirements

Engineering PDH Requirements – A Summary of All 50 StatesPDH-Requirements-at-a-Glance-The-State-By-State-Engineer-Requirements

Did you know that engineers with a license or professional certification make an average of $5,000 more annually than engineers without them?

While this pay increase is nice, it’s important to remember that these credentials require a set number of PDH. Unfortunately, due to the different state laws, there is no set number of PDH that an engineer needs if they want to keep their certification.

Luckily, in this article, we’ll be breaking down the engineer requirements for each state. But first, let’s go over what exactly a PDH requirement is.

What is a PDH Requirement?

A PDH (Professional Development Hour) is one-hour instruction or presentation that goes toward an engineering license or certification. Ten PDH credits add up to equal one CEU (Continuing Education Unit).

You can fulfill a PDH by attending most approved-college lectures or seminars. Or, you can go through specific companies that cater their education program toward engineers.

Make sure to check out our guide to learn more about the benefits of continuing your engineering education.

Engineer Requirements for Each State

Unfortunately, there is no set federal amount of PDH necessary to achieve or maintain a professional engineering certificate. As such, we’ve listed the specific state requirements so you can find your number quickly.

Alabama

A professional engineer in Alabama must finish 15 PDH once per year.

Alaska

A professional engineer in Alabama must finish 24 PDH every two years.

Arizona

Professional engineers in Arizona aren’t required to finish any PDH. However, they must renew their license every three years.

Arkansas

A professional engineer in Arkansas must finish 30 PDH every two years.

California

Professional engineers in California aren’t required to finish any PDH. However, they must renew their license every two years.

Colorado

Professional engineers in Colorado aren’t required to finish any PDH. However, they must renew their license every two years.

Connecticut

Professional engineers in Connecticut aren’t required to complete any PDH. However, they must renew their license every year.

Delaware

A professional engineer in Delaware must finish 24 PDH every two years.

Florida

A professional engineer in Florida must finish 18 hours of approved board courses every two years.

Georgia

A professional engineer in Georgia must finish 30 PDH every two years.

Hawaii

Professional engineers in Hawaii aren’t required to finish any PDH. However, they must renew their license every two years.

Idaho

A professional engineer in Idaho must finish 30 PDH every two years.

Illinois

A professional engineer in Illinois must finish 30 PDH every two years.

Indiana

A professional engineer in Indiana must finish 30 PDH every two years.

Indiana requires pre-approval of course providers. PDH-Pro is an approved CE provider in the State of Indiana.

Iowa

A professional engineer in Iowa must finish 30 PDH every two years. Two hours of this time must be spent on ethics training.

Kansas

A professional engineer in Kansas must finish 30 PDH every two years.

Kentucky

A professional engineer in Kentucky must finish 30 PDH every two years.